For Faculty

Faculty Awards and Recognition

Banner for Service Faculty Awards and Recognition

Leon L. Haley Jr. Leadership Award for Inclusive Excellence

Purpose: The Leon L. Haley Jr. Leadership Award for Inclusive Excellence award will be presented to a faculty member who has distinguished themselves as a servant leader committed to reducing healthcare disparities through clinical, educational, and/or scholarly work. Candidates must go above and beyond expectations by demonstrated involvement in community engagement and/or advocacy work. The recipient is committed to improving the health of the community while embracing the principles of servant leadership and demonstrates the following characteristics:

  • Dedication to working with under-served communities
  • Promotion of health equity
  • Devotion to serving others
  • Promotion of teamwork
  • Integration of all perspectives and viewpoints into discussions and decisions with special attention to those with less advantage
  • Demonstration of courageous leadership, including the willingness to take action amid uncertainty, to risk failing, and to have difficult conversations
  • Mentor-ship of others
  • Ability to Inspire others

Sponsor: UF College of Medicine – Jacksonville/UF Health

Previous Recipients:

UF College of Medicine – Jacksonville Endowed Professorships

Purpose: Endowed professorships and chairs enable UF to support, sustain and strengthen UF’s culture of excellence in research and scholarship. Endowments sustain excellence in research, provide incentives to facilitate hiring, assist in retaining outstanding faculty and provide resources for outstanding faculty. Many endowed faculty appointments are of indefinite duration while others are specifically limited to a set time period (e.g., three years).

Sponsor: Private support; donated assets


  • Community Hospice of Northeast Florida/Neviaser Family Professorship in Pediatric Palliative Care
    Current Recipient: Mark L. Hudak, MD
  • Glenn Chuck Professorship in Pediatric Cardiology
    Current Recipient: Mark L. Hudak, MD
  • James E. and Thelma C. Garrison Research Professorship
    Current Recipient: Arshag D. Mooradian, MD
  • Karl B. Hanson, Sr., MD, Professorship of Internal Medicine
    Current Recipient: Arshag D. Mooradian, MD
  • Methodist Medical Center Professorship of Surgery in Transplantation
    Current Recipient: Leigh A. Neumayer, MD, MSFACS
  • Robert J. Thompson, MD Professorship of Obstetrics and Gynecology
    Current Recipient: Guy I. Benrubi, MD, FACOG


  • James Bradshaw, MD Memorial Lectureship Endowment
    Current Recipient: Mark L. Hudak, MD

UF Foundation Term Professorships

Purpose: To reward outstanding contributions of UF tenure track faculty members with five or more years of service at UF. Awardees are selected based on their scholarly achievements, national awards and contributions to their college.

Sponsor: President’s Office

Awards Amount: Each award lasts three years and includes a $5,000 annual salary supplement.

Previous Recipients:

UF Health Enterprise (UF College of Medicine – Jacksonville, UFJPI, UFH-J) Service Award

Purpose: Recognize faculty members with at least five years of continuous service. Faculty celebrating 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, and 50 years of service are honored at an evening event

Sponsor: UF College of Medicine – Jacksonville/UF Health

Awards Amount: Plaque and UF Health Service Pin.

Deadline: Annually

UF Superior Accomplishment Awards (Performance Awards; Community Service Award; Diversity & Inclusion Award)

Purpose: Recognize faculty and staff members who contribute outstanding and meritorious service, efficiency and/or economy, or to the quality of life provided to students and employees.

Sponsor: UF Human Resources

Awards Amount: HSC award recipients receive cash awards of $200 each, then compete for university-level awards, which offer eight $1,000 and eight $2,000 cash awards.

Deadline: Nomination period opens Sept. 14 and runs through Oct. 30.