Dean Edwards receives prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award

Linda Edwards, MD, dean of the University of Florida College of Medicine – Jacksonville, received the 2023 Lifetime Achievement Award.
Elisa Sottile, MD, and Petra Duran-Gehring, MD, were inducted into the Society of Teaching Scholars.118 Jacksonville faculty received Exemplary Teacher awards.

UF COMJ faculty honored for excellence in education

The Society of Teaching Scholars at the University of Florida College of Medicine awarded Linda Edwards, MD, dean of the University of Florida College of Medicine – Jacksonville, the 2023 Lifetime Achievement Award.

Edwards was recognized for her distinguished career in education and leadership at the 23rd annual Celebration of Excellence in Medical Education awards ceremony on March 14. With the college since 1985, Edwards has made significant contributions to medical education and the UF Heath enterprise. She has served in many capacities including chief medical resident, chief of the division of general internal medicine, associate chair of the department of medicine, internal medicine residency program director, senior associate dean of educational affairs to her current position as dean. In addition to the numerous institutional roles Edwards has held, she also served on the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) Residency Review Committee for Internal Medicine from 1993-1998 and was a council member of the Association for Program Directors in Internal Medicine from 1994-1997. 2021 marked the 10th year that Edwards received the UF College of Medicine Exemplary Teacher Award.

“I am overjoyed and extremely humbled to receive such a tremendous honor,” Edwards said. “I take pride in the work that we do at the UF College of Medicine – Jacksonville to advance medicine and shape the next generation of health care providers. That work doesn’t mean every day will be easy but it is definitely worth it. More than ever I am committed to moving medicine forward through education, innovation and quality care.” 

Edwards was appointed to dean of the College of Medicine – Jacksonville in 2021 and has been an exceptional leader since the loss of Leon L. Haley Jr., MD, MHSA, providing guidance for the organization amid the COVID-19 global pandemic. She continues to support residency and fellowship programs and promote educational excellence on the Jacksonville campus. 

Induction of COMJ faculty

At the same event, Elisa Sottile, MD, and Petra Duran-Gehring, MD, were inducted into the Society of Teaching Scholars.

Sottile is an assistant professor of medicine and the assistant dean for medical education. She also serves as the director of the internal medicine student clerkship and associate program director for the internal medicine residency. Sottile joined UF in 1997, since then her work in education has garnered much recognition and she received the 2022 Kenneth Kellner, M.D., Ph.D., Outstanding Clerkship Director Award at the ceremony last year. 

Duran-Gehring is an associate professor of emergency medicine and the director of the emergency medicine ultrasound fellowship program. She has also been recognized by the American College of Emergency Physicians as an outstanding educator in emergency medicine ultrasound education. 

Leon L. Haley Jr., MD, MHSA, former CEO of UF Health Jacksonville and dean of the UF College of Medicine – Jacksonville, was posthumously inducted as an honorary member of the Society of Teaching Scholars. 

“Faculty at the UF College of Medicine – Jacksonville are proud that our leader, Dr. Edwards, has been recognized for her years of work in medical education,” said Elisa Zenni, MD, senior associate dean for educational affairs. “The induction of our faculty into the Society of Teaching Scholars shows the great talent and leadership we have in Jacksonville. We are also pleased that Dr. Haley’s legacy continues to be honored. It speaks volumes about the person, physician, educator and leader he was and we all aspire to be.”

The UF College of Medicine also recognized residents who were recipients of the 2023 Society of Teaching Scholars Outstanding Resident Educator Awards. 

  • Clinton Wilkinson, MD, department of anesthesiology

  • David Szames, DO, department of radiology

  • Eric Lakey, MD, department of emergency medicine

  • Cameron Kahn, DO, department of medicine

  • Lauren Terpak, MD, MS, department of neurology

  • Rakiya Miller, MD, department of obstetrics and gynecology

  • John “Jack” Hunt, MD, department of ophthalmology

  • Jeannie Buckner, MD, department of orthopaedic surgery and rehabilitation

  • Khaled Mohamed, MD, department of pathology and laboratory medicine

  • Poorvi Agrawal, MD, department of pediatrics

  • Amal Bhullar, MD, department of psychiatry

  • Grant Woodruff, DO, department of surgery

Additionally, 118 Jacksonville faculty received Exemplary Teacher awards. Congratulations to everyone on their achievements. 

Featured Faculty

Petra E. Duran-Gehring, MD

Petra E. Duran-Gehring, MD

Associate Professor
Medical Director, Emergency Medicine Ultrasound

Linda R. Edwards, MD

Linda R. Edwards, MD

Associate Professor
Dean, College of Medicine - Jacksonville

Elisa M. Sottile, MD

Elisa M. Sottile, MD

Associate Professor
Assistant Dean for Medical Education, Office of Student Affairs; Associate Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency; Clerkship Director

Elisa A. Zenni, MD

Elisa A. Zenni, MD

Senior Associate Dean for Educational Affairs