Angiolillo receives prestigious UFRF Professorship

Dominick Angiolillo, MD, PhD, remains humble and appreciative after receiving one of the most revered research-based accolades given by the University of Florida.

Angiolillo, a professor of medicine and medical director of cardiovascular research at the UF College of Medicine – Jacksonville, was selected for one of this year’s University of Florida Research Foundation Professorships. They are awarded to tenured faculty members with a distinguished active record of research. The intent is to recognize recent contributions and provide incentives for continued research excellence.

Angiolillo’s research has included studies on coronary artery disease and antiplatelet medications, which prevent blood clot formation. He has published more than 350 peer-reviewed manuscripts and has been cited more than 22,000 times.

“It is an honor to have been selected amongst the many great researchers at UF,” he said. “This is recognition for the decades of work that goes behind all this. However, the nicest thing is the overall appreciation that UF leadership has toward people like myself who have dedicated their careers to promoting science and health care.”

Angiolillo continues to lead genetic testing of stent-procedure patients at UF Health Jacksonville. The tests help determine if individual cardiovascular patients carry certain genes that make them less likely to metabolize clopidogrel (Plavix). The medication is often prescribed to patients following the placement of coronary stents to reduce the risk of blood clots and heart attacks.

Nearly 1,000 patients have participated in the ongoing study.

Recognizing research

Angiolillo is just the fifth UF COMJ faculty member to receive the UFRF Professorship, which lasts for three years and comes with a $5,000 annual salary supplement. Each recipient also gets a one-time $3,000 grant to support research. 

“I view the grant as a token of appreciation for the research endeavors,” Angiolillo said. “Since the award comes thanks to the efforts of many colleagues who work with me, I plan on putting this toward offsetting expenses of the research group when presenting and promoting our research at major scientific meetings.”

Past UF COMJ winners include K.V. Chalam, MD, PhD; Andrew Kaunitz, MD; Arshag Mooradian, MD; and Robert Wears, MD, PhD. Click here to learn more about the professorship.  

Featured Faculty

Dominick J. Angiolillo, MD, PhD, FACC

Dominick J. Angiolillo, MD, PhD, FACC

Chief, Division of Cardiology; Medical Director, UF Health Cardiovascular Center - Jacksonville; Medical Director, Cardiovascular Research Program; Program Director, Interventional Cardiology Fellowship