Oldest Medical Society in Florida Holds 2010 Annual Meeting

DCMS Press Release

(Jacksonville, FL) – Duval County Medical Society (DCMS), founded in Jacksonville in 1853 and the oldest medical society in Florida, held its 157th Annual Meeting, Thursday, January 21, 2010 at the Jacksonville Municipal Stadium Touchdown Club West.

John W. Kilkenny, III, MD, an Attending Surgeon in General Surgery for University of Florida (UF) & Shands in Jackonville, FL, was inaugurated as the 123rd DCMS President. Dr. Kilkenny began his affiliation with UF as a Clinical Associate/Instructor in 1991. Since 2001 he has been Associate Professor in the Department of Surgery at the UF College of Medicine and a General Surgeon at UF & Shands in Jacksonville. From 2007-2009 Dr. Kilkenny served as Editor-in-Chief of Northeast Florida Medicine, a quarterly journal published by the DCMS Foundation.

Dr. Kilkenny was inaugurated before 150+ DCMS members and guests attending the 2010 Annual Meeting. His goals as DCMS President are, "To successfully guide our organization through this most uncertain of times for medicine.The physician-patient relationship as well as our profession’s very stature is under siege from government, the legal establishment, and industry. I also plan to represent our society at the state and national levels with the quality of leadership that my predecessors have so ably demonstrated."

Annual elections and presentation of awards also took place during the meeting. Malcolm T. Foster, Jr., MD, was elected as DCMS President-Elect. J. Bracken Burns, Jr., DO, received the 2009 Philip H. Gilbert Young Physician Leadership Award created to honor the memory and service of Philip H. Gilbert, Executive Vice President of the DCMS from 1984 until his death in 2004. John M. Mazur, MD, received the 2009 Clyde M. Collins Humanitarian Award for annually leading a medical team of physicians and residents to deliver free orthopedic care to needy patients at Hospital Sacre Coeur in Milot, Haiti. This award was created in 1997 in memory of Dr. Clyde Collins to recognize volunteer efforts by physicians. Stanton L. Longenecker, MD, and Mary K. Robinson, MD, received the 2009 DCMS Community Service Award. Dr. Longenecker provides free orthopedic surgery services to uninsured, low income patients in Jacksonville through WE CARE. He has also served on that organization’s board and been an active participant in its physician variety show fundraiser. Dr. Robinson serves as a volunteer clinician at the I.M. Sulzbacher Health Center providing health care for the homeless. Her compassion for helping the underserved has benefited numerous community service organizations. This award was established by the Duval County Medical Society in 1998 to recognize outstanding volunteer efforts of DCMS Physicians performed in the community.

DCMS Life Members (those who have been members 25 years) recognized were William W. Buckingham, Jr., MD; William L. Carriere, MD; Earl H. Eye, Jr., MD; R. Donald Garrison, MD; David P. Johnston, Jr., MD; Ross T. Krueger, MD; Stephen G. Lazoff, MD; Frank G. Long, MD; George L. Mayer, MD; Alan B. Miller, MD; Robert O. Pohl, MD; and C. Davis Whelchel, III, MD.

Special features at the Annual Meeting were Poster Presentations by DCMS members and resident physicians. This recent research will also be the key material published in the 2nd Quarter Northeast Florida Medicine journal (NEFM). Another feature was the official debut of the first digital version of NEFM.

The DCMS is a voluntary professional association of 2,000+ physicians (MD/DO) dedicated to the health of Jacksonville and the surrounding community. DCMS is chartered with the Florida Medical Association and the American Medical Association. For more information on the DCMS and a full list of current officers, go to

Contact: Jay Millson
Executive Vice President
Duval County Medical Society
Phone: 904-355-6561 x104

Featured Faculty