Norse elected vice speaker of FMA’s Board of Governors

Ashley Norse, MD — seated on the front row, fourth from the right — is the new vice speaker of the Florida Medical Association’s Board of Governors.

Ashley Norse, MD, an associate professor of emergency medicine at the University of Florida College of Medicine – Jacksonville, has been elected vice speaker of the Florida Medical Association’s Board of Governors for 2017-18.

FMA represents more than 20,000 physicians in Florida on issues of legislative, regulatory, economic, educational and public health significance. The board ensures the policies voted on by the association’s House of Delegates are carried out.

Norse joins the board’s executive committee, which also includes its president, treasurer and speaker. In her role as vice speaker, she will help run FMA’s annual meetings. 

“It is an honor to be able to help lead a group of more than 350 physicians in making the decisions that will have such a big impact on the physicians of Florida as well as the patients we care for every day,” she said.

Norse has been a member of FMA since residency and has served on its Board of Directors for nine years. She says the organization is extremely beneficial.

“FMA brings physicians from all specialties and demographics together to shape the landscape of health care in the state of Florida,” she said. “FMA plays a role in shaping legislation as well as regulatory issues. It also provides education and outreach to physicians and the residents of Florida.”

Norse is medical director of the UF Health Jacksonville emergency room and recently became president of the UF COMJ Faculty Council. In recent years, Norse has served as president of the Duval County Medical Society and vice president of the Florida College of Emergency Physicians’ Board of Directors.  

FMA again appoints Rathore

FMA has chosen Mobeen Rathore, MD, a professor and associate chair of pediatrics at UF COMJ, to once again represent the Board of Governor’s District B, which includes the five Northeast Florida counties of Duval, Clay, Nassau, St. Johns and Putnam. He was elected to the board last year.

Rathore is also chief of pediatric infectious diseases and immunology and director of the Center for HIV/AIDS Research, Education and Service at UF COMJ.

Featured Faculty

Ashley B. Norse, MD

Ashley B. Norse, MD

Associate Professor
Associate Chair, Clinical Operations; Medical Director, Emergency Medicine Clinical Center

Mobeen H. Rathore, MBBS (MD), CPE, FACPE, FIDSA, FAAP

Mobeen H. Rathore, MBBS (MD), CPE, FACPE, FIDSA, FAAP

Professor - University Term Professor
Associate Chair, Department of Pediatrics; Chief, Division of Pediatric Infectious Diseases and Immunology; Director, UF Center for HIV/AIDS Research, Education and Service (UF CARES)