Sottile named assistant dean for medical education

Elisa Sottile, M.D., an assistant professor of medicine at the University of Florida College of Medicine – Jacksonville, has been named assistant dean for medical education at the college. Her appointment is effective June 6.

“Dr. Sottile brings a rich set of experiences in student teaching and curriculum development to the position, and working with colleagues in both Gainesville and Jacksonville,” said the college’s dean, Linda Edwards, M.D. “She will play a vital role in the establishment of our Jacksonville regional medical school campus over the next several years.”

The Jacksonville campus has long played a key role training medical students, with each department offering clerkship rotations for third- and fourth-year students from UF and other medical schools. Sottile’s appointment marks the next milestone in the development of a regional medical school campus, under which a cohort of UF medical students will spend their entire third and fourth years in Jacksonville.

In her new role, Sottile will be a key leader in the design and implementation of Jacksonville’s medical student curriculum. She will also help maintain the campus’ accreditation through the Liaison Committee on Medical Education, or LCME, the accrediting agency for U.S. and Canadian medical schools. In addition, she will help provide oversight and assistance to campus clerkship directors, recruit faculty to roles in the medical curriculum, and will work with faculty to continually improve teaching methods.

Sottile, who joined UF in 1997, will continue to serve as an associate program director for the college’s Internal Medicine Residency Program, as well as clerkship director for the department of medicine. In addition, she sees patients at UF Health General Medicine – Jacksonville, an internal medicine practice on the UF Health Jacksonville campus.

Featured Faculty

Elisa M. Sottile, MD

Elisa M. Sottile, MD

Associate Professor
Assistant Dean for Medical Education; Associate Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency; Clerkship Director