Elizabeth DeVos, MD, garners esteemed accolade from international emergency medicine group

Elizabeth DeVos, MD, an associate professor of emergency medicine at the University of Florida College of Medicine – Jacksonville, has received the Order of the International Federation for Emergency Medicine.

The award is given to a federation member who has demonstrated an extensive and continuous commitment to the specialty of emergency medicine in their country and has made significant contributions to supporting the federation’s advancement. Nominations are called for biennially from member countries.

DeVos, who oversees international emergency medicine education on the UF Health Jacksonville campus, has represented the American College of Emergency Physicians at the federation for about 10 years. She chairs its Specialty Implementation Committee, which assists countries where emergency medicine is developing toward specialty status. She oversees five special interest groups and led the committee in publishing "How to Start and Operate a National Specialty Organization," a manuscript that appeared in the African Journal of Emergency Medicine. 

“I am honored to have the opportunity to regularly collaborate with international leaders of emergency medicine who are working to assure access to care for acute illness and injury,” DeVos said. “My work with the International Federation for Emergency Medicine has allowed me to mentor others on six continents, give many invited lectures, learn from top emergency medicine physicians worldwide and develop my own leadership skills.”

DeVos joins about 30 other U.S. citizens who have received the award since 2000. This year’s awards ceremony, hosted by the International Congress on Emergency Medicine, was set to be held in Buenos Aires, Argentina, but was cancelled due to the pandemic. DeVos will instead receive her award next year in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. 

Featured Faculty

Elizabeth L. DeVos, MD, MPH

Elizabeth L. DeVos, MD, MPH

Medical Director, International Emergency Medicine Education; Program Director, COM International Medical Education Programs