UF Health Science Center Jacksonville celebrates 2013 Research Day

The University of Florida Health Science Center Jacksonville's annual research awards presentation and ceremony, sponsored by the Office of Research Affairs, brought together faculty, fellows and residents to share their academic and scientific research accomplishments.

The program, held May 16, 2013 in the Learning Resource Center auditorium, featured platform presentations, poster viewing and award presentations. The keynote speaker for the event was Ronald Bayer, Ph.D., professor of socieomedical sciences and co-director of the Center for the History and Ethics of Public Health at the Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health in New York. Bayer has been a consultant to the World Health Organization on ethical issues related to public health surveillance, HIV and tuberculosis.

Speakers and award presenters from the UF College of Medicine included a special presentation by Mike Conlon, Ph.D., associate director and chief operating officer of the Clinical and Translational Science Institute at the University of Florida, Gainesville

2013 Faculty Research/Scholar of the Year Award

Leighton R. James, M.D., an associate professor of medicine, presented for Charles W. Heilig, M.D., professor and chief of nephrology and hypertension, and introduced the 2013 Robert C. Nuss Researcher/Scholar of the Year, Andrew M. Kauntiz, M.D., FACOG, professor and associate chair of obstetrics and gynecology at the UF College of Medicine-Jacksonville, and 2012 recipient of the Patients’ Choice Award.

Faculty Research/Scholar of the Year, first awarded in 1996, is given to a faculty member displaying three scholarship qualities: discovery (research), dissemination (publication in journals) and application (presentation at regional and national professional meetings). Kauntiz was listed in 2012 in the prestigious Castle Connolly’s Top Doctors™, and is nationally known as a leading expert on menstruation disturbances.

2013 Poster and Platform Presentation Awards

Of the fellows, residents and faculty who submitted poster and platform presentations, six were chosen for platform presentation awards and six received poster presentation awards for their excellence:

Platform Presentation Winners

  • 1st Place: Ravi Keshavamurthy, M.D., Department of Ophthalmology; Quantitative Proteomics of Vitreous Humor to Identify Potential Markers Involved in the Induction of Posterior Vitreous Detachment

  • 2nd Place: Camille McGaw, M.D., Department of Medicine; Self-Expanding Stents for Benign and Malignant Lesions of the Esophagus: Metal Versus Plastic? A Retrospective Clinical Case Series

  • 3rd Place: Dylan Nugent, M.D., Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Rehabilitation; Chondroblastoma of Bone in the Extremities: A Multi-Centered Retrospective Study

  • 4th Place: Estela Thano, D.O., Department of Medicine; Functional Implications of Aspirin Dosing on Platelet P2Y12 Receptor Mediated Signaling

  • 5th Place: Sumit Narula, M.D., Department of Medicine; Subcutaneous Versus Intravenous Erythropoietin for Long-Term Dialysis Patients

  • 6th Place: Amy Boots, D.O., Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology; The Short-Term Prediction of Preterm Birth in Symptomatic Patients: A Systematic Review and Diagnostic Meta-Analysis

Poster Presentation Winners

  • 1st Place: Andrew Darlington, D.O., Department of Medicine; Pharmacodynamic Effects of Standard Dose Prasugrel with High Dose Clopidogrel in Obese Patients with Coronary Artery Disease

  • 2nd Place: Saran Wells, M.D., Department of Pediatrics; Prevalence of Vitamin D Deficiency in HIV-Infected Children and Adolescents

  • 3rd Place: Andrea McNab, M.D., Department of Surgery; An Analysis of Pre-Hospital Shock Index as a Correlate for Outcomes in Trauma Patients by Age Group

  • 4th Place: Jennifer Johnson, M.D., Department of Emergency Medicine; Health Literacy and Patient Activation Levels in Emergency Department Patients

  • 5th Place: Garry McCulloch, M.D., Department of Medicine; Can Coronary Artery Calcium Scoring in Non-Gated Chest Computed Tomography be Used to Rule Out Ischemia on Myocardial Perfusion Imaging?

  • 6th Place: Lori Gurien, M.D., Department of Surgery; Nobody Flies for Free: An Evaluation of Trauma Outcomes Related to Insurance Status in Patients Requiring Pre-Hospital Helicopter Transport

Featured Faculty

Andrew M. Kaunitz, MD, FACOG

Andrew M. Kaunitz, MD, FACOG

Associate Chair, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology; Medical Director, UF Health Women's Specialists - Emerson