## MINUTES Faculty Council May 6, 2024 12:00 P.M.

The meeting of the Faculty Council was called to order by Dr. Zach Deutch on May 6, 2024, at 12:00 p.m., via Zoom and McGriff Board Room.

## **ATTENDANCE**

<u>Attending:</u> Rana Alissa, M.D.; Rachel Carpenter, MD; Eric Conde, MSA; Zach Deutch, M.D.; Elizabeth DeVos, M.D.; Derek Hamlin, M.D.; Carmen Isache, M.D.; Suparna Krishnaiengar, M.D.; Amy McCoy, D.O.; Vlad Panaitescu, M.D.; Melissa Parsons-Tucker, M.D.; Gregory Wynn, M.D.; Brian Yorkgitis, D.O.

<u>Absent</u>: Dunbar Alcindor, M.D.; Laren Alexander, M.D.; Anthony Bunnell, M.D., DMD; Michael Friedl, M.D.; Sandeep Grover, M.D.; Robert Marino, M.D.; Miguel Villalobos, M.D.; Jason Wheatley, D.O.

<u>Others</u>: Kelly Gray-Eurom, M.D., MMM; Pradeep Kadambi, M.D., MBA; Tim Reinschmidt; Nancy Stover

<u>Departments not represented:</u> Neurosurgery; Obstetrics and Gynecology; Ophthalmology; Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery; Ophthalmology; Pathology and Laboratory Medicine; Psychiatry; Urology

The minutes of the Faculty Council meeting of April 1, 2024, were approved.

<u>Dean's Report:</u> Dr. Kadambi stated that all UF system hospitals and practice plans will report to Dr. Motew. Dr. Motew has visited Jacksonville and is very engaged. Two major projects at the system level include revenue cycle management for the hospitals and practice plans and supply chain across the entire system. The new value based medical director is Dr. Mark Clarke. Radiology and pediatric chair searches continue. Dr. Godwin and Dr. Neumayer are visiting the departments to answer questions about the compensation plan which will begin July 1, 2024. Mr. Conde stated that the compensation plan will be posted on the Bridge.

## **President's Report:**

Dr. Deutch stated that Mr. Green reported to the COMJEC that service line planning is moving forward. There will be planning discussions with UF Health St. Johns on clinical programming and their freestanding ED. The North Tower continues to advance and an opening date will be announced after AHCA inspections. There have been conversations with the City about the jail contract services. The City will also be approached about emergency department expansion. The budgeting process is moving forward. There will be a security summit with the City, JSO and the community. The program for Doctors and Clinicians of Tomorrow program will be transitioned to the Office of Student Affairs. There is a promotion and tenure workshop by Dr. Segal on May 8. The WIMS Conference was held on April 27, 2024. Annual continued accreditation letters have been received for all of the post-graduate training programs except the two programs which will have site visits. There were some concerns identified in the annual resident and fellow surveys. These will be reviewed with the respective programs. The annual Celebration of Education and Research is on June 6. Students return for 3<sup>rd</sup> year rotations on May 13. The College of Medicine graduation is on May 18. Compensation adjustments for FY 2025 need to be approved. The self-pay policy needs to be adjusted. Our legal counsel says that the FTC ban on non-competes does not apply to us. The Faculty Senate election is completed and the new senators are Dr. Puri and Dr. Ashby.

Minutes, Faculty Council May 6, 2024 Page Two

**Quality Committee**: Dr. Gray-Eurom stated that all the hospital goals except HCAPs have been met. Completion of consent forms is improving.

<u>Finance Committee</u>: Mr. Reinschmidt reported positive financial performance through the third quarter. There is a shift in patient revenue from Medicaid to the HMO exchange plans. The exchange plan reimbursement rate is not as good as the typical HMO plans. The graph will be adjusted in the future to separate the payor mix of the exchange plans from the Medicaid payor mix.

<u>Administrative Affairs</u>: Mr. Conde stated that the promotion and tenure packets are being reviewed by the Academic Personnel Board.

<u>Collaboration with Gainesville Faculty Council</u>: Dr. Deutch stated that there was a meeting with the Gainesville Faculty Council.

<u>Compensation Plan</u>: There will be a Town Hall Compensation Plan Q&A meeting in June for all of the faculty.

**Russo and Haley Award**: The Russo and Haley awards will be given on June 6.

<u>Faculty Council Officers Election</u>: Dr. DeVos has been nominated to be President and Dr. Yorkgitis has been nominated to be President-Elect.

APP Council: Dr. Kadambi stated that the APP's have formed their own Council.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned 1:00 p.m.

Gregory Wynn, M.D., Secretary