MINUTES Faculty Council May 5, 2025 12:00 P.M.

The meeting of the Faculty Council was called to order by Dr. Elizabeth DeVos on May 5, 2025, at 12:00 p.m., in the McGriff Board Room and via Zoom.

ATTENDANCE

<u>Attending:</u> Laren Alexander, MD; Rana Alissa, MD; LaRae Brown, MD; Eric Conde, MSA; Elizabeth DeVos, MD; Carmen Isache, MD; Robert Marino, MD; Amy McCoy, DO; Joana Ochoa, MD: Melissa Parsons, MD; Caroline Ripat, MD; Joanna Runkle, MD; Jinous Saremia, MD; Nirmal Thapa, MD; Jason Wheatley, DO

<u>Absent</u>: Dunbar Alcindor, MD; Anthony Bunnell, MD, DMD; Ryan Crooks, MD; Linda Edwards, MD; Michael Freidl, MD; Sandeep Grover, MD; Derek Hamlin, MD; Mohsin Jamal, MBBS (MD); Suparna Krishnaiengar, MD; Vlad Panaitescu, DO; Gregory Wynn, MD

<u>Others</u>: Carol Diachun, MD; Jennifer Fishe, MD; Kelly Gray-Eurom, MD; Madeline Joseph, MD; Colleen Kalynych, EdD; Tim Reinschmidt; Elisa Zenni, MD

Guests: Dr. Chris Hass, Associate Provost for Academic & Faculty Affairs; Jenny Hulsen and Jami Thompson, Academic Analytics

<u>Departments not represented</u>: Emergency Medicine; Neurology; Neurosurgery; Ophthalmology; Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery; Orthopaedic Surgery and Rehabilitation; Pathology and Laboratory Medicine; Radiology

The minutes of the Faculty Council meeting of March 3, 2025, and the Annual combined meeting of April 8, 2025, were approved.

<u>Faculty Excellence and Advancement System</u>: Dr. Hass gave a presentation on the new faculty evaluation and promotion and tenure system. Academic Analytics is the vendor selected to design the new platform. Activities occurring after January 1, 2025, must be entered into Faculty Excellence and Advancement (FEA) prior to packet generation. There are instructional guides for every portion of the FEA product and support from the Provost's office.

President's Report: Dr. DeVos stated that a single candidate has been identified for the President of the University of Florida. The Executive Vice President of Health Affairs search is underway and the expectation is that finalists will be identified and presented to the new UF President. The Health System level committee meets monthly. Dr. Godwin represents Jacksonville on the President's Council. Opportunities for "systemness" are being identified and Dr. Motew's executive team has been formed. The next corporate board meeting will be June 3 and 4, 2025. United Healthcare negotiations have been finalized and will be effective May 2025. Dr. Susmita Pati has accepted the role of chair of Pediatrics effective July 1, 2025. The implementation work for the regional campus in Jacksonville continues. Over the course of the next few weeks, Mr. Green and Dr. Edwards will be holding management meetings to provide an update on the progress made in the move toward an integrated system, including the operating model and AB-WOW (Aspirations, Beliefs and Ways of Working). A cohort of full-time students will be in Jacksonville beginning in August 2025. Dr. Runkle has agreed to serve on the task force looking at equitable allotment of stipends and time for program directors and associate

Minutes, Faculty Council May 5, 2025 Page Two

program directors. Kaufman Hall consultants are working with faculty on billing and coding. Faculty are encouraged to complete any outstanding trainings. The entrance to the emergency department is under construction and the entrance to the north parking garage will be moved soon.

Quality Committee: Dr. Gray-Eurom reported on the hospital and practice plan quality goals.

<u>Financial Update:</u> Mr. Reinschmidt reported on the third quarter of the fiscal year and the practice is ahead of plan.

<u>Administrative Affairs Update</u>: Mr. Conde stated that the faculty evaluation memo will be coming out soon.

GMEC Update: Dr. Diachun and Dr. Zenni presented the new faculty evaluation form that is to be completed by residents and fellows.

Research Update: Dr. Fishe gave an update on research funding and expenditures. There is potential for significant reduction in revenue due to federal budget cuts in the NIH and CDC. Dr. Norton's office is monitoring to provide a unified voice and messaging. Drs. Mobley, Sheikh and Vose have received major NIH grants. Faculty members continue to make national and international news. Dr. Fishe also reminded faculty that she is the Jacksonville representative to the IRB. She welcomes questions from Faculty who have IRB concerns or are not exactly sure how to address feedback from the IRB.

Election of Officers: The election of officers will be in June 2025. The ballot includes Dr. LaRae Brown for President, Dr. Melissa Parsons for President-Elect, Dr. Suparna Krishnaiengar for Vice President, and Dr. Greg Wynn for Secretary. Faculty can submit additional nominations.

Į	here	being	no	turthe	r bus	ıness,	the	meetin	g adj	ourned	at	1:10	p.m.

Gregory Wynn, MD, Secretary