MINUTES Faculty Council April 1, 2024 12:00 P.M.

The meeting of the Faculty Council was called to order by Dr. Zach Deutch on April 1, 2024, at 12:00 p.m., via Zoom.

ATTENDANCE

Attending: Laren Alexander, M.D.; Rana Alissa, M.D.; LaRae Brown, M.D.; Anthony Bunnell, M.D., DMD; Eric Conde, MSA; Zach Deutch, M.D.; Elizabeth DeVos, M.D.; Linda Edwards, M.D.; Mike Freidl, M.D.; Sandeep Grover, M.D.; Derek Hamlin, M.D.; Carmen Isache, M.D.; Suparna Krishnaiengar, M.D.; Robert Marino, M.D.; Amy McCoy, D.O.; Vlad Panaitescu, M.D.; Melissa Parsons-Tucker, M.D.; Joanna Runkle, M.D., MPH;; Miguel Villalobos, Jr., M.D.; Jason Wheatley, D.O.; Gregory Wynn, M.D.; Brian Yorkgitis, D.O.

Absent: Dunbar Alcindor, M.D.; Rebecca Omman, M.D.

<u>Others</u>: Kelly Gray-Eurom, M.D., MMM; Madeline Joseph, M.D.; Andy Godwin, M.D.; Jeffrey Goldhagen, M.D.; Pradeep Kadambi, M.D., MBA; Leigh Neumayer, M.D.; Tim Reinschmidt; Nancy Stover

Departments not represented: Neurosurgery; Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

The minutes of the Faculty Council meeting of March 4, 2024, were approved.

Dean's Report: Dr. Edwards stated that the UF Health Board met last week. Dr. Stephen Motew will be joining the UF Health corporation as president and CEO beginning April 1, 2024, as well as interim CEO for UF Health Shands. There will be a search initiated immediately for the CEO of UF Health Shands conducted by Spencer Stuart. The transition committee reported that the local hospital and practice plan boards will remain intact. Authority of these boards will be better defined once the corporation board is in place. No one has been identified for the corporation board. The corporation board will oversee finance and investment, audit and compliance. Dr. Nelson will remain as SVPHA until a search has been completed by Spencer Stuart. Dr. Nelson in indicated that he would step back from hospital operations with the arrival of Dr. Motew and focus on the colleges. Nine programs for the UF Jacksonville Campus were approved by the Board of Governors with 1500 students expected in the next 5 years. They will be using space at the JEA building downtown. The Academic Deans will be visiting Jacksonville on May 16 to see the proposed sites. Two Jacksonville faculty will undergo the post tenure review process. Searches for chairs of Radiology and Pediatrics continue. Dr. Joseph has been appointed associate dean for Faculty Advancement and Engagement. Dr. Best has stepped down as assistant dean for faculty affairs.

President's Report:

College of Medicine Jacksonville Executive Committee Report: Dr. Deutch stated that he attended the UF Health Board meeting and reported on announcements at the College of Medicine Jacksonville Executive Committee meeting held on March 28, 2024. Shakira Henderson, the new Chief Nursing Officer and AVP for UF Health, was introduced. Mrs. Harper gave an update on fundraising activities. Dr. Joseph has been appointed Associate Dean for Faculty Advancement and Engagement. Dr. Zenni reported on GME and the successful Match. Resident files are discoverable so no PHI should be included in resident files. The regional campus application has been sent to the LCME for consideration at their June meeting. So far, no patient information was affected in the Cyber-attack. Mr. Green suggested that there will be a

Minutes, Faculty Council April 1, 2024 Page Two

focus on areas of excellence in cardiology and vascular, neurosurgery, orthopedic surgery and rehabilitation and primary care.

Elections: Dr. Deutch stated that there are two seats to be filled on the Faculty Senate. A survey to vote on candidates will be sent this month. Election of Faculty Council Officers will be held in June.

Russo and Haley Awards: Dr. Deutch stated that the Faculty Council will select the prestigious annual institutional awards for faculty - the Louis S. Russo Faculty Award for Outstanding Professionalism in Medicine and the Leon L. Haley Jr. Faculty Award for Inclusive Excellence. The deadline to vote is April 22, 2024.

Quality Committee: Dr. Gray-Eurom stated that quality metrics are being met. She asked that faculty and residents remember to wear appropriate PPE in isolation rooms.

Finance Committee: Mr. Reinschmidt stated that the practice plan is positive year-to-date.

GMEC: No report.

<u>Ambulatory Operations Optimization Committee</u>: Dr. Deutch stated that the main issue discussed at the Ambulatory Operations Optimization Committee was changing the clinic cancellation notice to patients from 30 days to 90 days.

<u>Administrative Affairs</u>: Mr. Conde stated that faculty can select their Doctors Day gifts from the web site until April 14. AAMC faculty salary survey reports are on the Bridge. Everything reflected on the W2 is total compensation.

<u>Compensation Plan</u>: Dr. Neumayer presented the compensation plan. Dr. Godwin, Dr. Hudak and Dr. Neumayer will give presentations at department meetings. The new plan is a revision of the 2017 plan. The Compensation Committee will annually review the plan by March 15 each year and make recommendations to the UFJPI Executive Committee. Targets will be communicated to faculty by July 15 every year. Major changes include standardized benchmarks/targets within three models and clinical productivity model options. There will be semi-annual payouts in the spring of 2025. The cap on productivity bonuses will be removed from the plan.

<u>Other Business</u>: Dr. Deutch stated that there will be a meeting of the Gainesville and Jacksonville Faculty Council Executive Committee on April 18, 2024.

<u>Resolution</u>: Dr. Goldhagen presented a resolution to remove Dr. Joseph Ladapo from the University of Florida Faculty.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned 1:00 p.m.	

Gregory Wynn, M.D., Secretary