MINUTES Faculty Council November 4, 2024 12:00 P.M.

The meeting of the Faculty Council was called to order by Dr. Elizabeth DeVos on November 4, 2024, at 12:00 p.m., in the McGriff Board Room and via Zoom.

ATTENDANCE

Attending: Laren Alexander, M.D.; Rana Alissa, M.D.; LaRae Brown, M.D.; Anthony Bunnell, M.D., DMD; Eric Conde, MSA; Elizabeth DeVos, M.D.; Sandeep Grover, MD; Derek Hamlin, M.D.; Carmen Isache, M.D.; Mohsin Jamal, MBBS (M.D.); Suparna Krishnaiengar, M.D.; Robert Marino, M.D.; Amy McCoy, D.O.; Vlad Panaitescu, D.O.; Melissa Parsons-Tucker, M.D.; Caroline Ripat, MD; Joanna Runkle, MD; Jason Wheatley, D.O.; Gregory Wynn, M.D.; Brian Yorkgitis, D.O.

Absent: Dunbar Alcindor, M.D.; Michael Freidl, M.D.

<u>Others</u>: Kelly Gray-Eurom, M.D., MMM; Madeline Joseph, M.D.; Pradeep Kadambi, M.D.; Tim Reinschmidt; Nancy Stover

Guests: Wayne Phillips and Stephanie Smith

The minutes of the Faculty Council meeting of October 7, 2024, were approved.

<u>Dean's Report</u>: Dr. Kadambi stated Dr. Fuchs will serve as the interim president of UF. An advisory group and search firm has been engaged. Submissions for the 10/10/10 initiative are being considered. Each college will do a needs assessment. Countries of Concern will be discussed at the November COMJEC meeting. Dr. Motew's team is coming together. There is a new system CFO, Geoff Gardner. Jessica Melton is the new chief transformation officer. Ed Daech is the new chief Human Resources Officer. The Shands CEO search continues. There will be a survey to define culture of the organization. The UF Health Corporation was created in July and their first meeting was in September. The local boards will become advisory in nature and all decisions will be made by the UF Health Corporation. Incentive payouts are based on the old compensation plan. Dr. Gopireddy has been appointed as the new chair of Radiology. Negotiations continue with a candidate for chair of Pediatrics. Congratulations to Dr. LaRae Brown for completing the Executive Leadership Program of the American College of Healthcare Executives.

E-mail addresses: Wayne Phillips and Stephanie Smith discussed the changes in the e-mail addresses. The addresses will be standardized across the entire enterprise. Mail coming in will still go to the same in-box but replies will have the new e-mail address. Mrs. Smith is available to answer questions.

<u>President's Report</u>: Dr. DeVos stated that there is a call for medical student research projects and funding is available for faculty to introduce students to research in their summer projects. Dr. Kalynych is a great resource about this project. Senior leadership evaluations have been received and the feedback will be reviewed with Dr. Edwards. Dr. Hester and Dr. Fattahi are new medical staff officers. They will meet with various departments, services lines and the Faculty Council to get an idea of the important issues. The new faculty lounge is very nice.

<u>Faculty Senate</u>: Dr. DeVos reported for Dr. Storch on Faculty Senate discussions. There are a few faculty who have been asked to participate in the post tenure review. There is a task force

Minutes, Faculty Council November 4, 2024 Page Two

being created to brainstorm AI at UF and the possibility of the use of the supercomputer to influence clinical matters.

Quality Committee: Dr. Gray-Eurom reported on the hospital goals and discharge instructions.

<u>Finance Committee</u>: Mr. Reinschmidt stated that the practice plan was at break even for the first quarter.

Administrative Affairs: Mr. Conde stated that December 24 is a hospital and UFJPI holiday but not a UF holiday, so 8 hours of person leave day will be automatically deducted. There is no vacation to sick leave conversion at the end of the year. The Regional Campus implementation work continues. Two office name changes and subsequent Dean's title changes have been made. The Office of Educational Affairs will be renamed the Office of Graduate Medical Education and the Office of Student Affairs will be renamed the Office of Educational Affairs.

There being no further business, t	the meeting adjourned at 1:00 p.m.
Gregory Wynn, M.D., Secretary	